2022 Wyoming Congressional Award Council State Medal Ceremony

Apr 15, 2022 | State Medal Ceremony

CHEYENNE, Wyoming: On Sunday, April 3, 2022, at 10 a.m. at the Cheyenne Civic Center, the Wyoming Congressional Award Council held its annual state award ceremony to honor youth from across Wyoming who have earned Congressional Award medals. Senators John Barrasso M.D., and Cynthia Lummis, presented to the youth who were approved to receive medals this year. The Congressional Award was established by The United States Congress in 1979 to recognize initiative, service, and achievement in young people ages 13.5 – 23.

Harris Tanner, Gold Medalist, a junior at Rawlins High School says “While working on my voluntary public service goal, I spent a lot of time with the elderly women in my community. As I spent more and more time with them, I developed relationships with them that I will never lose and am forever grateful for. Being able to have those friends in my community and looking out for them truly changed me and made me much more selfless and taught me so much. Being a part of this program made me a more caring, driven, and motivated individual.”

To earn a Congressional Award medal, participants must meet certain requirements in four programs areas, including 100-400 hours of voluntary public service over a seven-to-twenty-four-month period.

“Despite the pandemic these youth worked and volunteered, set goals, and turned those goals into reality. They put everything behind their wish or goal and have earned what very few have, a Bronze, Silver, or Gold Congressional Award medal” 

Pat Thomas, WCAC Board President.

  • Madeline Moreno, American University, School of International Service – Bronze & Silver
  • Carl Gray, Thunder Basin High School – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Koye Gilbert, Encampment K-12 School – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Berkeley Snyder, Rawlins High School – Gold
  • Harris Tanner, Rawlins High School – Gold
  • Ellie Weibel, Casper College – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Allison Morrison, Powell High School – Gold
  • Katie Morrison, Powell High School – Bronze
  • Rachel Kuntz, University of Wyoming – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Henry Dickinson, John C. Schiffer Collaborative High School – Gold
  • Wyatt Griffin, Pinedale High School, Bronze & Silver
  • Aidan Kim-Miller, Jackson Hole High School – Bronze & Silver

  • Jasper Nusbaum, Burns High School – Bronze
  • Kinzley Nusbaum, Burns High School – Bronze
  • Ava Taylor, Cheyenne Central High School – Silver
  • Jillian Trimble, Cheyenne Central High School – Bronze
  • Lukas Salsgiver, Cheyenne Central High School – Bronze
  • Faith Danner, Cheyenne East High School – Gold
  • Gracie McGraw, Cheyenne East High School – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Jonnina Edmonds, Cheyenne East High School – Bronze & Silver
  • Anne Ritschard, Homeschool – Silver
  • Eli Polk, Homeschool – Bronze & Silver
  • Isaiah Polk, Homeschool – Silver
  • Nathan Duda, Laramie County Community College – Gold
  • Seneva Sullivan, Laramie County Community College – Gold
  • Alexandra Jane Robert, Cheyenne South High School – Bronze, Silver & Gold
  • Kora Williams, University of Wyoming – Silver & Gold
  • Dawson Fantin, Rock Springs High School – Gold
  • Faith Brandt, Rock Springs High School – Gold
  • Hudson Garner, Rock Springs High School – Gold
  • Karli Nelson, Rock Springs High School – Gold
  • Megan Zotti, Rock Springs High School – Gold
  • Michael Rubich, Rock Springs High School – Gold

Brooke Bindl, Mountain View High School – Gold